Stuff students say…

Today in my Econ class, the topic of discussion was the national debt.  We were discussing who would have to pay for the debt when this exchange occurred…

“So, I feel like it’s going to be your generation and my kids’ generation that is going to end up paying the price for our fiscal irresponsibility.  Probably my generation too, but I’m kinda old and might get out of it.”

“You’re not old Mr. Southwick.  You’re like 30!”

“I’m much older than 30.  I’m pushing 40.”

“No you’re not.  You’re like 34 or something!”

“Yeah, but if you round to the nearest 5, I’m 35.  And then, you could round up to 40.”

“C’mon!  You’ll be around forever!”

“I’ve got an old soul… I’ve got one foot in the grave.”

“You’re full of it!!!”

A few minutes pass…

“So the main argument the film is making is that during the time period, fiscal conservatives were not acting like conservatives… yes, John?”

“Your beard is really grey for your age.”

“Why, thank you…”

“And you do have those really big triangles where your hair is falling out – what’s that called, a widow’s peak?”

“No, a widows peak is where your hair comes to a point in your forehead.  Mine is called going bald.”

“Yeah, you are pretty old for your age, aren’t you?”  (a general murmur of assent from the class)

Yes, I believe I am.  In fact, more than I had realized.  Now, would anyone else like to make a specific critique of my physical appearance before we continue?”

“Well, you are kind of…”

“MOVING ON…”

Image

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stuff students say…

  1. Kimberly Ervin says:

    Awww Bless your heart! Kids are cruel! I think you look very dashing =) (not in a weird way but a you are my friend and I will support you kinda way lol)

  2. J. Larson says:

    Hair or no hair, you can pull it off either way;).

Leave a Reply

