From my soul…

“After nourishment, shelter and companionship, stories are the thing we need most in the world.” – Philip Pullman

I just wanted to take this opportunity to say thank you to everyone who has been reading the blog.  I know I’ve said it several times, but I cannot say it enough – you guys are the best!  The encouraging messages and kind comments, the positive feedback – it all has warmed my heart.  Moreover, it makes me want to keep going!  I set a goal for 20 blogs this year, and I’m almost halfway there already, and that is a direct result of you guys showing interest in my story.  I had no idea what to expect when I started this, but I certainly didn’t expect my blog to be viewed over 1,100 times during the first month.  I truly appreciate every one of you!

I also didn’t expect to keep telling stories.  I figured I would write a few and no one would care, and I could slip back into obscurity.  But now I feel a sense of community with all of you.  I feel like you are a part of my life.  You sat down and listened as I spun tales of my past and present, and you all feel like family now.  I’m looking forward to sharing more and getting better and seeing where the story goes.

Of course, I’m constantly faced with the dilemma of what to write about.  Keep it light?  Go heavy?  Tell embarrassing stories… and add disclaimers since they are somewhat R rated?  Share my passions?  Tell more stories about wee little D-Rock?  So many things to consider…

This much I know – I have enjoyed this last month.  I have shed tears.  I have laughed remembering the reality.  I have held my breath to see if anyone was going to read the latest post.  I’ve felt like something bigger than me, even though this has been about me.  And I genuinely think I am a part of something bigger than me – for the Story is something we are all a part of.

Thanks for a great first month!  And remember – I love receiving your thoughts and comments, so keep them coming!

Image

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to From my soul…

  1. Jeanette says:

    I am going to print all these out to pass down..

  2. lisatemp says:

    I’m reading! Keep it up.

  3. Kristy Russell (Fleming) says:

    Love your writing style and I laugh out loud with your stories. You truly have a gift!!!

  4. Rachel says:

    Loving them all. Especially since I’ve known you and your family through most of them. I know the day will come when the story surfaces about driving your little sister and her best friend to the movies and stripping the innocence from their ears.

    • dtswampa says:

      Hmmm. I actually hadn’t added that to the list, but it is now. I just need to make sure it’s the tone down version – I don’t want to ruin anyone else’s innocence!

  5. Pingback: Three Blog Night… | The Furry Bard

Leave a Reply

