I’m Moving On…

Sometimes a song captures the essence of your life so perfectly, it becomes a part of your personal album – music that can, whenever you hear it, return you to a specific time and place in your life when things shifted.

The song “I’m Moving On” by Rascal Flatts is that song for me…

Have a listen – my thoughts are below.

I literally could write 5 blogs about this song and the overwhelming meaning it has for me each time I listen to it.  Every time those opening piano notes waft from my radio, I have to stop everything I am doing and listen and visualize everything I went through a few years ago.  I decided to narrow it down to just a few verses for the purpose of this blog.  Maybe I will come back to it at some future date…

I’ve lived in this place and I know all the faces
Each one is different but they’re always the same
They mean me no harm but its time that I face it
They’ll never allow me to change

But I never dreamed home
Would end up where I don’t belong
I’m movin’ on

To become who you are meant to be, you have to leave behind what you’ve been.  I don’t mean you give up on family and old friends, but you have to leave the comfort of being who they think you are.  I spent over a decade of my adult life trying to be exactly who other people wanted me to be.  As the song says, “they mean(t) me no harm, but its time that I face it – they’ll never allow me to change.”  Many of you know the feeling – trapped in your own body, a prisoner of expectations.  Those expectations might have been forced upon you by someone else, or they might have come from trying to do what you thought would please someone else.  Either way,  they’ll never allow you to change…

I actually started writing about two particular examples of this in my life, but found that even now, several years later, it is too painful to share.  Suffice it to say, “I never dreamed home would end up where I don’t belong…”  but I no longer belonged in the life I was leading…

Then, the chorus…

I’m movin’ on
At last I can see life has been patiently waiting for me
And I know theres no guarantees but I’m not alone
There comes a time in everyone’s life
When all you can see are the years passing by
And I have made up my mind that those days are gone

Over the course of a few years, I decided to move on in several areas of my life.  What absolutely shocked me was the fact that life HAD been patiently waiting for me.  I went back to school to be a teacher – the dream I had when I first when to college in the 1990’s.  Suddenly, I was passionate about my days again!  For the better part of  a decade, “all (I) (could) see (were) the years passing by”, and once I made up my mind that those days were gone, life shifted.  Completely.  Irrevocably.  There could be no going back, and I wouldn’t want to.  And though I spend some days worried about the future of the profession I have chosen, and whether or not my position at the bottom of the totem pole will lead to a trip to the unemployment line, I am ok with it.

I don’t know who will read this blog… and I don’t know if you are at a crossroads in your life.  All I can say is this: if you are wondering if you can leave behind that which you have known and become who you were meant to be – you can.  Life awaits you.  Don’t let more years of your life pass by unaccounted for.  And know that you are not alone…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m Moving On…

  1. J. Larson says:

    Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

