Giving Thanks – Day One: The Wifie…

Somewhere along the line, some clever Facebook user decided that it would be a good idea to share something they are thankful for every day of the month of November.  Of course, there are people that feel this is ridiculous because we should be thankful every day of our lives.  Totally true, by the way… Of course, I have the sneaking suspicion that the type of people who complain about this sort of thing wouldn’t be able to come up with 30 things they are thankful for, but I’m just guessing.  

The reality is, if you are reading this blog, you are blessed beyond measure.  We all are, even the poorest amongst us.  Yet, if we are being truthful, we are not thankful enough for that which we have.  Oh, we might occasionally acknowledge the bountiful blessings that have come our way, but too often days, if not weeks, go by without us even having an inkling of thankfulness in our hearts.  And as busy as our lives are, that’s just the way it is… but I am thankful for a month given over to remembering the important and not-so-important ingredients of my life that give it the wonderful flavour that it has…

So I might be a day late getting started (why didn’t someone post something reminding everyone that it was coming up???) but I’m going to give it a shot this month – one post a day about something/one I am thankful for.  Where to begin?

Oh yeah.  I know exactly where to begin.  My thankfulness starts with the wifie.

Now, if you have read the blog for long, you might question this decision.  After all, most of what I post here deals with the wifie being cruel of tongue towards dear, sweet me.

There was the “When I look at you, I don’t feel bad about myself” incident…

There was the infamous “Mascara” Incident…

There was the “your clothes are horrible” fiasco…

Honestly, there have been plenty more.  In particular, the “Purple Flower” blog remains half written, and is truly a classic.

The thing is (if you were wondering), wifie is totally in on these blogs.   She gives me the go ahead before I hit post… because together, we have decided that perhaps the best way to deal with the difficulties of raising up a family in this modern era is to chuckle about things and share the laughter…

Let’s be honest here… 13 and 1/2 years of marriage bring about a lot of rough times.  Its not all smooth sailing when you spend every single day with another person.  When two people move into close quarters, they bring all of their good attributes and bad attributes, throw them into a boiling pot together, and the resulting dish often looks and tastes nothing like it was expected to.  Such is marriage.

Despite the fact that a couple of 21 year-old kids didn’t know what they were getting into, I’m so very thankful to have shared this ride with the wifie.  We’ve had some hard times, true, but that only makes sharing life with her that much more meaningful.  We have had so many great times too.  Carving our initials on a tree in Asheville, NC.  An epic round of miniature golf in Niagra Falls.  The awkward moments when wifie rips on the waitress just as the waitress is coming up behind her.  4 hour trips to Wal-Mart in Cleveland, MS.  Actually, any trip to Mississippi…  Sleepless nights in the camper in my aunt’s driveway in NJ.  That special Valentine’s dinner she took me to at the Capital Grille.  That legendary time when the janitor cussed her out and then attacked me with the garbage can. Laughing until we cried reading Mason Brown or watching Arrested Development.  The fact that even now, I have to chase off the posse of men that are always hitting on her because she is so fine.  Holding her hand when two new lives were pulled from her womb and into the world.  Watching fireworks together as a family on the last night at Disney World.  Those moments when she catches me off guard and I burst into genuine laughter.  The fact that, after 13 years, I still only get approximately one foot of space on the edge of the bed because she has to sleep RIGHT next to me.  

Of course, I am so thankful for our two girls, neither of which would be as wonderful as they are without the wifie’s tender touch.  Parenting can also be a source of conflict between husband and wifie, but I am extremely lucky in that regard.  If you know our girls, you know they are wonderful, and I can take very little credit for that.  Wifie has raised them to be well behaved, loving, and giving.  Every good thing about them is a reflection of wifie (while the few bad things are a reflection of yours truly).  I am very proud of my daughters, and therefore very proud of my wifie too.

I could go on for a while, but I will stop here.  You probably don’t want to read a novel every day of Thankful November.  But I want to start off by saying my life would be very dull indeed without the spectacular woman that is my bride.  I am so very thankful for my wifie, Amy Lou.  What a lady.

(Note: the next blog about the wifie will be a “Things wifie says blog… I’m not stopping those just because I am thankful for her 😉

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Giving Thanks – Day One: The Wifie…

  1. This post made me think of Brad Paisleys “little moments” song. You are truly talented with your words and I really enjoy reading! Thanks for sharing! Kristy Russell (Fleming)

Leave a Reply

