Reflections

Hey everyone…

The end of the year is a great time for reflecting, and I wanted to take a few moments to take a look back on my first 10 months of blogging.  First and foremost, I am so thankful for everyone who has taken the time to read any of the words I posted this year.  Truthfully, you helped make my life so much more rewarding.  My path these past few years has been rife with change, and I am so fortunate to find myself doing two things I absolutely love – working with teenagers to create a better future, and taking baby steps into the world of writing.  Neither seemed possible just a few years ago.  Now, I can’t imagine life without them.  I know I have MILES to go to be truly good in either of these endeavors, but I feel like I am finally on the two paths that I always wanted to take in life.  I’m looking forward to seeing where they take me.

That being said, I am extremely pleased to have hit both of my goals for the year.  I initially set out to write 25 blogs for the year, and upon hitting that goal, 50.  Now, the process ended up being a bit too uneven for my liking – I think during the summer I only wrote 2 blogs over three months, but I still managed to hit the target.  Next year, the goal will be consistency.

I also should point out that I managed to write all of these blogs without ever writing a blog about the wifie’s family.  Many of you have asked me why I haven’t brought the lovable hillbillies up except in passing.  Well, I’ll tell you – it’s because they are petrified.  I’m fairly certain that my sister-in-law Virgie has prayed that a pox would come upon me if I ever dared to tell a tale about her.  But, as some of you have noted, my very best stories include Big Daddy Jim, Mama Vicky, Virgie and the gang.  Don’t worry.  One day, when they least expect it, I will drop a bomb.  And there will be much wailing and gnashing of teeth in Belleville on that day…

To round out my reflections, I thought I would link my favorite posts from this first year.  A lot of you have just recently started reading, and I know I haven’t done the best job organizing everything yet.  So here are a few that I particularly enjoyed writing – I hope you will enjoy reading them.

Larger than Life – The life and times of one of my heroes, Grandpa Gil (remains the most read blog I have written)

Stuff Wifie Says – First blog wherein the wifie rips my self esteem to shreds…

Daddy Daughter Day – An epic day spent with my two girls…

On the tooth fairy and the wonderful lies we tell our children – Wherein Reagan attempts to catch us in a lie about the the money delivering enamel snatcher… this blog has actually been read in 18 countries for my most “widely” read blog so far.

Mean Girls – Good parenting gone awry…

Mother of the Year – an ode to my sister-in-law Becky, and her sweet angel baby Malachi that now lives in Heaven

The Red Light District – The girls’ latest business idea… Oh, the shame…

Once again, everyone, thank you from the bottom of my heart!  You have greatly enriched my life by joining me for this journey.  I hope that you have enjoyed the journey too!

This entry was posted in Awards, Blogging, Getting Old, Stuff Reagan says..., Stuff Riley says, Thanks, The girls, The girls' business ideas. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

