The Hillbilly Blog Challenge

So my last blog about my recent Hillbilly Vacation seemed well received by most people.  I tried not to be mean spirited or hurtful, and just tell some stories people of all backgrounds would enjoy.  

Of course, I was taking a risk.  In nearly two years of blogging, I had never written about the in-laws.  When I told them I was writing a blog, they quickly made it crystal clear that they expected to never make an appearance.  This was especially true of my mother-in-law and my sister-in-law.  For the most part, I have honored that.  Other than my father-in-law delivering the news that Santa didn’t exist while saying good night to the girls on Christmas Eve, I am pretty sure they haven’t appeared here.

Until yesterday.

For the most part, I think it went over OK.  Just like the Facebook posts I made during the trip, my mother-in-law seemed amused, yet irked.  I think she took it a little better than she otherwise would have because I tried to divvy up the stories between her and the father-in-law instead of just picking on her.  She laughed about it in the car, and commented that the blog made her laugh (though I have been met with glacial silence from the sister-in-law).  

However, I have a sneaking suspicion that all is not well in Hillbillyville.  My mother-in-law has been a good sport, but she has repeatedly indicated that “there are two sides to every story,” and that her version of the story is the “authorized” version while mine is the “unauthorized” version, and finally that I am “really good at embellishing the truth.”

I suppose I can understand her position.  After all, I shined the spotlight on them for humor’s sake when they might not have wanted the attention.  I didn’t let them read it before hand (though it was basically fleshing out the Facebook posts from last week.)  And despite the fact that I tried my best to handle the story with care, I suppose it could have still been uncomfortable and embarrassing for “Mama.”

Originally, I had planned a step-by-step rebuttal to her accusations of embellishment.  While certain points might be slightly different than what happened in real life, it’s only because I tried to eliminate parts that I thought would be even more embarrassing for them.  I certainly didn’t add totally made up stuff to make it sound worse.  But if you want to believe that she only called me “Idiot” instead of “Idiot Jerk,” I won’t hold it against you.  Just know that if the story was changed, it was done to cause less embarrassment, not more (at least from my perspective).

However, I guess the real issue is that I broke the unspoken truce: I dragged the hillbillies into my realm.  I caused embarrassment.  I need to rectify the situation.  So here’s the deal.  In her FB posts, she has continually eluded to the fact that she could start telling embarrassing stories about me.  So, in the spirit of fairness, I will give her the chance.  I challenge my mother-in-law, also a blogger and a great storyteller, to tell a story, any story, about me.  I will post it here, on my blog, and I will do so without editing it at all, since she was not allowed a chance to edit mine.  I will share it on Facebook, and she can too.  

The ball is in Mama’s court now.  Is she up for the Hillbilly Blog Challenge?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

